MCC Delivers Final Verdict on Akash Deep’s Controversial Delivery to Joe Root

Published by

CFLL Staff

Published on

08 Jul 2025 | 03:12 PM
Share
Facebook
Twitter
Reddit
Whatsapp
LinkCopy
newsimage

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has issued a formal clarification following the controversy surrounding India pacer Akash Deep's delivery that clean bowled Joe Root during the second Test at Birmingham. The incident occurred late on Day 4 of the match, which India went on to win by a record 336 runs their biggest overseas Test victory leveling the series 1-1.

 

Root was dismissed for just 6 runs off 16 balls after Akash Deep delivered an in-seaming ball that uprooted his stumps. However, moments later, questions were raised about the legality of the delivery, with commentators and fans alleging a potential back-foot no-ball had gone unnoticed.

 

COMMENTATORS RAISE EYEBROWS OVER FOOT PLACEMENT

 

BBC Test Match Special commentator Alison Mitchell first pointed out the possible infraction, stating that Akash’s back foot appeared to have landed outside the return crease.

 

> "The delivery from Akash Deep which we said was wide off the crease his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably," she said. "So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!”

 

The observation quickly went viral on social media, with fans circulating screenshots and video clips of the delivery, claiming an umpiring oversight had cost England a key wicket. Former England batter Jonathan Trott, while commentating on JioStar, also supported the notion that the delivery might have been illegal.

 

MCC CLARIFIES: DELIVERY WAS LEGAL

 

Amid the growing speculation, the MCC custodians of cricket laws stepped in to settle the debate. In a statement to Cricbuzz, an MCC spokesperson confirmed that the delivery was indeed legal under Law 21.5.1 of the Laws of Cricket.

 

> “While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law,” the statement read.

 

The club further elaborated that what matters is where the bowler's back foot first lands. If the initial point of contact is within the return crease, the delivery is considered fair even if the foot slides over the line afterward.

 

LAW 21.5.1: EXPLAINED BY MCC

 

To clear any confusion, MCC quoted Law 21.5.1:

 

> "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery."

 

MCC emphasized:

 

> “As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed. It is the position at that moment that is to be considered. In Akash Deep’s case, his back foot was clearly within the return crease at the point of landing, making it a legal delivery.”

 

TURNING POINT IN A HISTORIC TEST VICTORY

 

Root’s dismissal marked a crucial moment in the match. At the time, England were 72/2 chasing an improbable 608-run target. India had faced earlier criticism for delaying their declaration, with some pundits accusing them of fearing England’s aggressive "Bazball" approach. However, Root’s wicket justified India’s strategy, shifting the momentum decisively.

 

Jamie Smith provided some resistance on the final day but lacked support from the other end. England were eventually bowled out for 271, handing India a commanding 336-run victory their largest away win in Test history, and their first-ever win in Birmingham in 19 attempts.

 

Series Decider at Lord’s

 

With the series now level at 1-1, both teams will head to Lord’s for the pivotal third Test, set to begin on Thursday, July 10.